Put Special Notes Where You See Them Daily

What is the first thing you do when you wake up every morning?

After getting out of bed, the first thing I do is open my shutter blinds and let in the sunlight.

June 24, 2015 005

I yawn widely. My lungs expand with the day’s deepest breath yet.  As my groggy mind fires up and darts to the randomest places, I read these words from on my window:

June 24, 2015 004
Lord, I love you.   Lord, I need you.   Lord, help me.

I want these fundamental prayers to set the tone of my thoughts for the morning – and hopefully for the rest of the day.

My thoughts spin faster than a bicylcle wheel on some days.  My thoughts collect jems of knowledge and pearls of truth. My thoughts also clasp onto lies and crawl through emotional tunnels.

My most powerful weapon for combatting restless and nagging thoughts is focusing on the truth. A mind saturated with truth is the engine that runs my hope-filed heart.

So, my fifth habit for filling my heart with hope is putting special notes in places I see them daily. These notes remind me of my soul’s great riches.

I placed sticky notes on the back of my bedroom door, so that I see them each day as I leave my room.

June 24, 2015 026

“Dios dispone todas las cosas para el bien // No se preocupen.”    “Freedom means not living for my own success, glory, and beauty, but for God’s.”   “No matter how you are feeling, the truth doesn’t change.”  “Choose joy! La vida es bonita.”

El Oracion Del Senor, the Lord’s Prayer, is stuck next to my doorknob, so that I see it and pray it on my way out.

June 24, 2015 019

This quote is on my desk. After long, fast-paced days, it reminds me to seek and savor my soul’s only secure rest and dwell there.

June 24, 2015 021
I am restless until I find my rest in Thee. – St. Augustine

Focuses for prayer are taped to the side of my bedside table, reminding me to voice them each night before sleeping.

June 24, 2015 023On my mirror are these Scripture cards that inspire me to rejoice in both victories and hardships. June 24, 2015 024When I look in the mirror, I ask myself a question: Do you look at yourself more than you look at God? The picture beside it displays a variety of the Lord’s names and qualities.

June 17, 2015 018

Shifting my focus off of my wavering self and worshipping the Lord in His magnificence is pure joy. Knowledge of His sweet splendor and glorious goodness is the groundwater of my springs of interminable hope.

CHALLENGE: What do you want to focus on first thing in the morning? What do you want to focus on every day? Write it down and tape it somewhere you view frequently.

Leave a Reply

